Have you received a speeding ticket or traffic citation in North Carolina? If so, we are sure you have many questions. Many people look for answers in the citation, but find the ticket itself raises even more questions. Let us address a few questions we get asked.
Most drivers assume that the cost of ticket is the amount listed on the citation. When they speak with an attorney, however, the cost is either not explained or is different than the amount listed on the ticket. Let us explain the difference: North Carolina citations usually have the correct costs of court, but the amount of the fine will change with the outcome of the ticket. For example, if you were to pay the ticket as charged, then the citation is correct. On the other hand, if you hire an attorney to represent you, there is a good chance your charges will be reduced. At that point, your fine is changed to reflect your final result.
“Should I just pay the ticket without fighting it?” Before you do, think about the financial effects. Even one speeding ticket can drastically raise your insurance. In fact, even drivers with a clean record will find that the potential increase in insurance is much greater than the cost of hiring an attorney to contest the ticket. If you decide to represent yourself in Rowan County on a traffic violation, you will most likely have to appear in court. That means time away from work or time you could spend more wisely than sitting in court. Finally, if you are charged of speeding in excess of 55 mph and over 15 mph over the speeding limit, the DMV will likely suspend your license!
Points. Everyone charged with a speeding ticket in North Carolina is concerned with points, and rightfully so. What exactly should drivers be concerned about? First of all, there is a difference between North Carolina DMV points and insurance points. While all drivers should be concerned about DMV points, receiving insurance points can lead higher premiums. For example, it is possible for a speeding ticket to be reduced so that the driver is assessed DMV points but without an increase in insurance! Of course, that would require you to have a pretty good record, especially over the last three years. On the other hand, if you have a bad driving record, not only should you be concerned with your insurance points, but you should also monitor your DMV points. If you accumulate 12 or more points within a three (3) year period of time, the NC DMV will likely suspend your license.
If you have been charged with a traffic ticket, you will likely have plenty of questions. If that is the case, please give us a call. We are happy to assist people charged in Salisbury, China Grove, Spencer, Kannapolis, or anywhere near Rowan County.
Latest posts by Bill Cameron (see all)
- Services of Salisbury Lawyers Essential in Settling Divorce Issues - March 23, 2015
- Salisbury, NC Attorneys: What Contributes to Wrongful Convictions - February 20, 2015
- DWI Attorneys in Salisbury, NC Can Contest Field Sobriety Test Results - February 11, 2015